+49 178 728 32 44 - (Mon - Fri, 11:00 - 17:00) infoberlin@das-akademie.de

CEFR – Reference Framework

All DAS Akademie, language courses are structured in line with the Common European Framework of Reference  (CEFR). Thus, you can uniformly define your language skills across Europe with our certificate of completion.

CEFR Reference for Languages

As a guideline, the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages describes the achievements of language learners across Europe. In a nutshell, six reference levels serve as the European standard for grading an individual’s language proficiency. In our language courses, we teach all levels from A1 to C2.

These levels are as follows:

CEFR Framework

On level A1, you can:

use short everyday expressions like “how are you?”.

introduce yourself, and of course others.

ask and answer questions about personal details.


On level A2, you can:

form simple sentences and frequently used expressions.

 communicate in simple and routine tasks, especially on routine matters.

describe aspects of your background and express immediate needs.


On level B1, you can:

understand the main points of clear standard input on familiar matters.

just deal with most situations where the language is spoken.

 produce simple connected text about familiar or personal interest.

describe experiences such as events, dreams, hopes & ambitions.

 briefly explain the reasons for opinions and plans.


On level B2, you can:

understand the main ideas of complex texts.

interact with ease and spontaneity with native speakers .

produce clear, moreover detailed texts on a wide range of subjects.

explain a viewpoint giving the advantages and disadvantages.


On level C1, you can:

understand long complex texts, and recognise implicit meaning.

express yourself fluently and spontaneously.

communicate not only flexibly, but also effectively for all purposes.

produce clear, well-structured, detailed text on complex subjects.


On level C2, you can:

understand virtually everything heard or read.

summarise information from different spoken and written sources.

express yourself spontaneously, but very fluently and precisely.

All our courses are structured in line with CEFR. Do you want to learn German at a fast and efficient pace? Check out our intensive German course in Berlin. Or our evening German course Berlin if you are busy during the day.